Poetry Musings and Monday Night Parties

Hello my dear little pumpernickel-pies!

I ended up taking a nap last night instead of going to sleep. I think that after last semester I’ve brainwashed myself into thinking that all homework is so unpleasant that it should be put off to the very last possible hour, but the last two assignments I’ve been working on have actually been rather fun once I got into them. Nothing like reading a completely obscure poem and realizing halfway through the writing slog that the author meant it as a mocking tirade to his critics instead of a pretty nature poem about England. At least, that’s how I think he meant it. 

If you’ve looked at this post before and read the poem, I apologize; I realized that since we only submitted the first submission today I am still in blinders about any other information regarding the poem. Once the final submission is handed in, then I can spread it all over the web. Here’s a haiku instead:

you thought you saw “poem”
you expected poem, right?
sadly, none for you.

Anyways, I have readings to do, and a strong urge to drink through much of my closet stash of booze whilst I do it. Maybe that’s the 2 hours of sleep talking, but I think it sounds like a fantastic idea. That way, if anyone asks me to drive them places or run errands for them, I’ll just swivel my desk chair around and look at them dumbly before saying
“But….I’m drunk.”

End of story.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Emily

I'd rather write than write papers, I'd rather paint than study, I'd rather make music than sleep.

Leave a comment